Management >> Board of Directors Home
Pages:    1  2  3

Mr Ratan N Tata - Chairman

Mr Tata holds a B.Sc. (Architecture) degree in structural engineering from Cornell University, USA, and completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School, USA. He joined the Tata Group in 1962 and in 1991, Mr Tata was appointed Chairman of Tata Sons Limited. He currently holds the Chairmanships of major Tata companies. Mr Tata is associated with various organizations in India and overseas significant being Alcoa, Mitsubishi Corporation, the American International Group, JP Morgan Chase and Rolls Royce. Mr Tata is also affiliated with the Indian Institute of Science, the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research and is the Chairman of the two of the largest private sector promoted philanthropic trusts in India. During his tenure, the combined revenues of Tata entities have grown over ten-fold to annualized revenues of over US$100 billion.

The Government of India honoured Mr Tata with its second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, in 2008. Earlier, in 2000, he had been awarded the Padma Bhushan. Mr Tata has also been conferred honorary doctorates in business administration by the Ohio State University, in technology by the Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok, in science by the University of Warwick and a fellowship of the London School of Economics.

Mr Tata joined the Company's board in 1981, became Executive Chairman in 1988 and was appointed as the Non Executive Chairman in 2001. Mr Tata is actively involved with product development and other business strategies pursued by the Company. Under his leadership, the Company has transformed from being a leader in the domestic commercial vehicle market to being India's largest automobile company, with strong businesses in both commercial vehicles and passenger cars and a growing international footprint. Some of his achievements include the design and development of India's first indigenously produced car, the Indica, and the Nano, among the world's cheapest cars and the acquisition of Jaguar Land Rover.


Mr Ravi Kant - Vice-Chairman

Mr Kant had his education at the Mayo College, Ajmer, the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur and did his Masters in Management (Industry) from the Aston University, UK. He was conferred with an Honorary D.Sc. by the Aston University, UK and is an Honorary Industrial Professor at the University of Warwick, UK. Mr Kant has extensive experience in the manufacturing and marketing fields, particularly in the automobile industry. Prior to joining the Company, he was with Philips India Limited as the Director of the Consumer Electronics business.

He was awarded the BMA (Bombay Management Association) Management Man of the Year Award 2008-09. The Indian Institute of Metals conferred him with the Honorary Membership of the Institute in the year 2010. He is also on the governing Board of Vale Columbia Center on Sustainable International Investment, SIFE Worldwide, the National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad, Chairman of IIM, Rohtak. He was the recipient of the Golden Peacock Corporate Award for Business Leadership for the year 2010 for his outstanding contribution in transforming Tata Motors.

Mr Kant joined the Company as Senior Vice President in February 1999 and was appointed as an Executive Director (Commercial Vehicle Business Unit) in July 2000 and as Managing Director in July 2005. Upon retiring from his Executive position on June 1, 2009, Mr Kant continued on the Company's Board of Directors as Vice-Chairman.


Mr Nusli N Wadia - Independent Director

Educated in the UK, Mr Wadia is the Chairman of Bombay Dyeing and Manufacturing Company Limited and heads the Wadia Group. He was appointed on the Prime Minister's Council on Trade & Industry in 1998, 1999 and 2000-04. Mr Wadia has a distinct presence in public affairs and has been actively associated with leading charitable institutions. He is also on the Managing Committee of the Nehru Centre, Mumbai. He is also the Chairman/Trustee of various charitable institutions and non-profit organisations.

He was appointed as a Director of the Company with effect from December 22, 1998.


Mr S M Palia - Independent Director

Mr Palia, a B.Com., LL.B., CAIIB and AIB (London), is a Development Banker by profession. He was with Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI) from 1964-1989. During this period, he held various positions including that of an Executive Director. He was also the Managing Director of Kerala Industrial and Technical Consultancy Organisation Limited, set up to provide consultancy services to micro enterprises and small and medium enterprises. Mr Palia is on the Boards of various companies in the industrial and financial service sectors and is also actively involved as a trustee in various NGOs and trusts.

He was appointed as a Director of the Company with effect from May 19, 2006.


Dr R A Mashelkar - Independent Director

Dr Mashelkar is an eminent chemical engineering scientist. He retired from the post of Director General from the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in 2006, after a tenure of over 11 years. His leadership transformed CSIR into a user-focused, performance-driven and accountable organisation.

Dr Mashelkar is the President of Indian National Science Academy (INSA), National Innovation Foundation, Institution of Chemical Engineers, UK and Global Research Alliance, a network of 60,000 scientists from five continents and has been honored with honorary doctorates from 26 universities, including Universities of London, Salford, Pretoria, Wisconsin and Delhi. Dr Mashelkar has also been elected as Fellow/Associate of Royal Society (FRS), London National Academy of Science (USA), US National Academy of Engineering, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK, World Academy of Art and Science, USA and the Academy of the Developing World, Trieste, Italy.

Dr Mashelkar has won over 50 awards and medals at national and international levels, including the JRD Tata Corporate Leadership Award and the Stars of Asia Award (2005). In the post liberalised India, Dr Mashelkar through leadership of various organisations/ Government Committees has played a critical role in shaping India's Science and Technology policies. The Government of India honoured Dr Mashelkar with the Padmashri (1991) and the Padma Bhushan (2000). Dr Mashelkar is also a director of several well known companies.

He was appointed as a Director of the Company with effect from August 28, 2007.

Pages:    1  2  3