About Social Accountability 8000

Social Accountability 8000 (SA 8000) was developed by Social Accountability International (SAI), a non-profit affiliate of the Council on Economic Priorities (CEP). It is based on:

- United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and
- Universal Declaration of Human Rights

SA 8000 measures the performance of companies in eight key areas.

These include:

- Child labour - Forced labour
- Health and Safety - Discrimination
- Disciplinary Practices - Working Hours
- Compensation - Free Association &Collective Bargaining

SA 8000 is applied by companies for auditing and certifying labor practices in their facilities and those of their suppliers and vendors. The measures are designed for independent third party certification and provides for a social accountability management system to demonstrate ongoing conformance with the standard.

Status Update

  • Tata Motors is one of the four Tata Companies that has adopted SA 8000 in 2006
  • The standards would be applied within the facilities, starting from manufacturing unit at Pune


Cover |Content