Tata Motor Logo

33 Indian Truck Drivers shortlisted to race in Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2017 Press kit

Download press kit

11 March, 2017

  • Tata Motors shortlists 9 drivers from UP, 1 driver from Delhi and 2 drivers from Haryana  
  • Truck Racers from Germany, Spain, Hungary, (Czech Republic) and France, to race in Season 4, including T1 first woman driver Stephanie Halm
  • Students from fine art colleges across Delhi NCR come together to create paintings based on two themes, ‘Thank you trucker’ and ‘Their way, the highway’. The canvas graffiti workshop is intertwined with Tata Motors objective of giving truckers a sense of pride towards their profession. These painting will be displayed at BIC on the main race day and then at Transport hubs across the country.

33 Indian truck drivers have made it through to the semi-final round in the second edition of the T1 RACER PROGRAM (TRP 2.0), where 20 drivers will be selected to race in Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP, at India’s globally renowned F1 race track – The Buddh International Circuit (BIC), Greater Noida, on March 19, 2017.

Among the 33 drivers selected under TRP 2.0, are drivers from the first edition of the TRP program, of whom 10 drivers will race in the CHAMPIONS CLASS category, while fresh entries under the TRP 2.0 program will compete in the SUPER CLASS category in Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP.

Having being trained for over three months by some of the best race instructors in India roped in by MOMA (MOMA Motorsport Management), the ‘Heroes of the Highway’ from Season 3, attracted over 1000 applications for Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP 2017. Stellar performances by Jagat Singh (Haryana) and Nagarjuna (Andhra Pradesh) among others in Season 3, is a testimony to the success of the Truck Racer Program.

Tata Motors conceptualized and introduced a new Indian Truck Driver Race selection and training program, based on the company’s strategic objective of:

  • Making the profession of truck driving aspirational – Given multiple options for livelihood that have come up in last few years, there wasn’t anything aspirational about driving a commercial vehicle, given harsh working conditions, along with constant pressure to deliver on time.
  • Act as a catalyst to induct drivers into the sport of truck racing – Given that professional truck racing was a concept alien to India, a ready pool of drivers was not available that could compete on the race track, hence the TRP could help fill that gap.

Season 4 will also see accomplished racers from FIA’s European Truck Racing Championship (ETRC) competing in the championship for the very first time. The ETRC will be represented by six racers from the rest of Europe, who will compete in the PRO CLASS category alongside six British drivers from the British Truck Racing Association (BTRA), who have raced in T1 since the sporting event was first introduced in 2014. 

SUPER CLASS Top 10 Racers from TRP 2.0
CHAMPION CLASS  Top 10 finalist from TRP 1.0
PRO CLASS 12 International Racers

Among these are Spanish Antonio Albacete, three time ETRC Champion (2005, 2006 & 2010), Hungarian Nobert Kiss, two time ETRC Champion (2014 & 2015) and Woman driver Stephanie Halm.

Driver from the ETRC competing in Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP are –

Drivers from the BTRA competing in Season 4 of the T1 PRIMA TRUCK RACING CHAMPIONSHIP are –

In Season 4, Tata Motors has also partnered with some of the country’s leading automotive brands. These are WABCO – Official Braking Technology Partner, JK Tyre – Official Tyre Partner, Castrol – Official Lubricant Partner, Cummins – Official Engine Technology Partner and Tata Technologies – Official Technology Partner.

India’s only truck racing championship is organised by Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC), with safety and performance standards as per the guidelines of the British Truck Racing Association (BTRA). Conducted under the aegis of FIA & FMSCI, the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will feature Tata PRIMA race trucks, built for the purpose. A one-make championship, six teams will compete in the PRO CLASS CATEGORY of the T1 PRIMA Truck Racing Championship.

Distributorship Enquiry Form

Refresh Icon

List Your Country Enquiry Form

Refresh Icon
Happy to connect

Happy to connect

Tata Motors Customer Care
  • Dealer LocatorDealer
  • EMI CalculatorEMI

    EMI Calculator

    EMI (per month) Rupee Symbol 0

    The information provided by the calculator is for illustrative purposes only. Actual EMI may vary as per exact loan offering. Please contact your nearest Tata Motors dealer for further details. EMI calculation reflects amounts in Indian Rupees rounded to the nearest whole number.

    EMI calculations are based on zero advance EMI scheme alone.

  • Contact UsContact